🌟🌟🌟🎆🎆KUNG HEI FAT CHOI!🎆🎆🌟🌟🌟
Happy Chinese New Year 2019.
The year of the pig.
The annual celebration begins on the new moon that comes between 21 January and 20 February. Chinese year will start today – February 5th 2019 and end on January 24th 2020, when the Year of the Rat begins.
The new year, also known in China as the Spring Festival, is marked by the lunisolar Chinese calendar; this means the date changes from year to year.
The festivities usually start the day before the new year and continue until the Lantern Festival, the 15th day of the new year.
The Chinese zodiac is divided into 12 blocks (or houses) just like its western counterpart, but with the major difference that each house has a time-length of one year instead of one month.
Each Chinese New Year is characterised by one of 12 animals which appear in the Chinese zodiac – the current one is the Year of the Dog and the next one is the Year of the Pig.
Which Chinese zodiac sign are you?
Your sign is derived from the year you were born in the Chinese lunar calendar.
Which year are you?
Rat: 2008, 1996, 1984, 1972, 1960
Ox: 2009, 1997, 1985, 1973, 1961
Tiger: 2010, 1998, 1986, 1974, 1962
Rabbit: 2011, 1999, 1987, 1975, 1963
Dragon: 2012, 2000, 1988, 1976, 1964
Snake: 2013, 2001, 1989, 1977, 1965
Horse: 2014, 2002, 1990, 1978, 1966
Sheep: 2015, 2003, 1991, 1979, 1967
Monkey: 2016, 2004, 1992, 1980, 1968
Rooster: 2017, 2005, 1993, 1981, 1969
Dog: 2018, 2006, 1994, 1982, 1970
Pig: 2019, 2007, 1995, 1983, 1971
The years above are a rough guide; bear in mind that if you were born in January or February it may be slightly different as the new year moves between January 21 and February 20.
The years allocated to each animal are in a very specific order. According to an ancient Chinese folk story, the Jade Emperor had called 13 animals to a meeting and announced that the years on the calendar would be named according to the order they arrived in. This led to ‘The Great Race’.
The rat travelled on the back of the ox, leaping from its back to nab first place. The pig stopped for a snack and a nap and arrived last; a cat was also in the race but drowned during the competition, leading to there being only 12 animals in the zodiac.
Pig (from 5th February 2019 onwards)
Pigs are loyal friends but only when you get to know them, so their social circle is often small. Like the monkey, they like to play pranks on people and do not know when to stop. Pigs are also known to be lazy and clumsy.
Lucky Signs for the Pig
Lucky numbers for people born in the Year of the Pig are two, five and eight and their lucky colours are yellow, grey, brown and gold. Their lucky flowers are daisies and hydrangeas and their lucky directions are east and southwest.
The personality of the Pig
People born in the Year of the Pig are characterised as motivated, honest and enthusiastic. They concentrate on their goals and devote their energy to achieve them. They are generous and helpful towards others and strive for positions of power and status. While those born in the Year of the Pig do not waste their money, they are not afraid to treat themselves every so often and as a result may be deemed materialistic.
Strengths: Diligent, compassionate, generous and calm
Weaknesses: Gullible, over-friendly and quiet
Why do the Chinese value Pigs?
Pigs symbolise luck, wealth, honesty and prosperity to the Chinese. Their chubby faces and large ears represent good fortune and the zodiac creature is always well-fed and looked after by others. They are thought to be lucky from birth and as a result Chinese families believe their sons born in the Year of the Pig are fortunate.
As pigs tend to have large litters, the Chinese say they are a sign of virility and couples trying for babies often display the symbol in their bedrooms in hope of conceiving.
A person born in the Year of the Pig is thought to be blessed with wealth and is considered to be a hard-working, sociable and reliable individual, with a good sense of humour. Men tend to be optimistic, gentle and quiet while women are excitable, organised and caring.
What does your Chinese zodiac sign mean?
In Chinese astrology, the 12 animal zodiac signs each have unique characteristics.
Rat: Intelligence, adaptability, quick-wit, charm, artistry, gregariousness.
Ox: Loyalty, reliability, thoroughness, strength, reasonability, steadiness, determination.
Tiger: Enthusiasm, courage, ambition, leadership, confidence, charisma.
Rabbit: Trustworthiness, empathy, modesty, diplomacy, sincerity, sociability.
Dragon: Luckiness, flexibility, eccentricity, imagination, artistry, spirituality, charisma.
Snake: Philosophical, organised, intelligent, intuitive, elegant, attentive, decisive.
Horse: Adaptable, loyal, courageous, ambitious, intelligent, adventurous, strong.
Sheep: Tasteful, crafty, warm, elegant, charming, intuitive, sensitive, calm.
Monkey: Quick-witted, charming, lucky, adaptable, bright, versatile, lively, smart.
Rooster: Honest, energetic, intelligent, flamboyant, flexible, diverse, confident.
Dog: Loyal, sociable, courageous, diligent, steady, lively, adaptable, smart.
Pig: Honorable, philanthropic, determined, optimistic, sincere, sociable.
Chinese New Year traditions
In preparation for the new year, the Chinese will clean their homes and put up red decorations and lanterns.
The celebrations will then officially kick off with a New Year’s Eve family dinner, with fish and dumplings being served to encourage prosperity.
Shou Sui, which translates as “after the New Year’s Eve dinner”, follows the traditional feast, where families stay awake throughout the night and gather for fireworks at midnight to banish evil.
Adults typically give children red packets containing money at Chinese New Year, to help them avoid the evil and wish them good health.
🌟🌟🌟🎆🎆KUNG HEI FAT CHOI!🎆🎆🌟🌟🌟
credit; The Telegraph